Some people believe that online reading materials should only be used for a child to learn to read, whereas others believe only printed material should be used. Discuss both views and give your opinion. 40 mins

In this contemporary epoch, reading has become an indispensable part of human trait. While many individuals believe that children should learn the reading skill from the internet, others assert that only books can provide the best learning opportunity. This essay will delve deeper into both the aspects followed by my own opinion, which sides with those using the traditional methods of learning, in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, many opponents believe that resources available online provide the updated knowledge by covering a variety of topics on one display. This is because many websites offer hyperlinks of different topics within a single page so that a user can understand the concept easily after studying it. Additionally, quick quizzes in between the reader modules could help adolescents retain the information for a longer time period. Thus, new methods of learning with the help of the world wide web are an excellent way in teaching children about reading. For instance, a meticulously conducted survey by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation revealed that in 2014, pupils of online classes were able to memorise their subjects in an efficient manner. On the contrary, using printed books is a reliable source of information as compared to online articles where anyone can post false data without any background check. The reason behind this is that publishers of books have to go through various clearing and authentication check public authorities to publish their content. Also, reading from printed data puts less strain on the eyes of youngsters which is beneficial for their overall physical body. In contrast, electronic gadgets emit harmful radiations from its screens which can cause a permanent damage to the eyes of children. Hence, reading through books is the only fruitful method for the younger generation. In conclusion, although online resources have interactive interfaces for learning, I believe they lack authentic information which could be detrimental for the mental growth of readers and their future careers. Axiomatically, reading books is the proven alternative which has a myriad of benefits for young learners.