Being a celebrity – such as a movie star or professional athlete – brings problems as well as benefits. Do you think that being a celebrity has more benefits or drawbacks?

Fame offers several advantages and disadvantages to a renowned person's life. The famous personalities receive popularity and a luxurious life, however, it takes away their personal life and keep them under constant pressure due to many different reasons. In my opinion the Stardom has more limitations than advantages. Thus, this essay will discuss that why being famous has more drawbacks. Firstly a famous person such as an actor or actress will gain millions of fans after obtaining popularity. This is to say that, they feel important and loved by numerous people, and it will bring happiness and a sense of achievement to their life. However, they can never live a normal life owing to the never ending curiosity of the common people about the social and private lives of celebrities. As a consequence, they are mostly surrounded by fake friends who are just there to gather information about the life of a celebrity. Hence, the pleasure gained initially does not last longer and may become a major cause of stress for them. To exemplify, Shruti Khanna, a popular playback singer in India, took her life in 2002 after the spread of various rumours about her personal life. Similarly popular people may live an extravagant life, as they earn a huge amount of money in their profession. In other words, they can own every expensive thing in the world to have a comfortable lifestyle. On the other hand, they are assumed to be perfect under every circumstance, by their fans. Moreover, to maintain this fan following, celebrities are always under pressure to look presentable every time. What is more, they are judged for each and every move they make either in public or in their private life. Therefore, they are forced to live a pretentious life where they cannot express their emotions like others. In addition to this, the physical appearance of celebrities has to be perfect too, and for this several people undergo surgeries to enhance their beauty. However, these surgeries are not always successful To conclude, a celebrity gains various benefits such as fame and lots of money, although these are not sufficient for a healthy and happy life. Furthermore, their life is full of stress and burdensome. Thus, I believe that being famous is more disadvantageous.