Taxing Industries, corporates and individuals based on their environmental footprint is the only way to save the environment. Do you agree with the statement? Give your opinion.

Pollution level in the atmosphere is increasing profoundly owing to the industrialization and accountability of citizens. As a result, some people are in favour of imposing environmental tax on industries and individuals to maintain the ecological balance. In my opinion, the Government should come up with different ways rather than penalizing with higher taxes. To embark upon, notion of imposing more taxes will only create more problems for the authorities. Firstly, in developing countries, the majority of people are living under the poverty line and hence, increased levy will be an additional burden for them. Secondly, with an added environmental tax on corporations, this would indirectly affect the lowering of salaries of its employees, which affect the buying capabilities of the countrymen. Consequently, it would affect the economy of a nation. On the other hand, there are several other useful ways of improving the ecological balance of nature. Firstly, corporate and individuals should be encouraged for afforestation of plants and trees, which helps in maintaining the proportion of Carbon dioxide and therefore, help in minimizing the greenhouse effect issue. Secondly, Industries should be made aware of the different other useful ways of decomposing their hazardous industrial waste rather than dump into the rivers, which has deteriorated effect on the human and animal health. Furthermore, students in the school and colleges should be made aware of the problems of pollution by ways of introducing as subject or arranging seminars. All in All, charging extra money by penalizing based on the environmental issues will only affect the economy of a country indirectly. Therefore, the Government should enforce different methods like implanting trees, different ways of dumping industrial waste, and educating people regarding the negative consequences of pollution will certainly assist to keep a check on environmental issues.