More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in foreign countries. What are the benefits and drawbacks of studying abroad?

Present, abundance of opportunities for continuing higher education abroad makes students appeal to study in other countries. Studying abroad has some advantages and disadvantages. At the outset, studying in foreign countries has some benefits. Firstly, a plethora of other participants from other nations makes it possible to acquaint with other cultures. For example, students could acquire knowledge about not only their traditions and customs, but also their festivals and languages lead to more understanding of other nations. Secondly, by obtaining a higher-level degree in other countries, new science and technologies have been transformed to the source countries when they come back home. Take Dr. Hesabi as a salient example. By returning back to Iran, he started to establish the first academic university based on the last criteria of a modern definition of the university. Also, the first radio and television were introduced by him and the precise plans of the southern provinces of Iran were produced; because, until those years nobody had no knowledge of the last groundbreaking methods and tools. These persons and public attributes are the samples of the benefits of studying in other countries. However, there are some drawbacks for pursuing a higher level of study abroad. Being away from family and relatives, students of other countries should tackle with depression and stress. As we know based on plenty of evidence about the role of relationships for people, these students could make social relationships, but cannot compensate lack of family and relatives. Furthermore, there is one phenomenon known as 'brain drain' in which more talented young citizens moving abroad with dozens of detrimental effects for their countries. When these groups migrate, their societies confront with shortage of scientists, engineers, and doctors. Moreover, aged generations should endeavour these responsibilities with less energy and an old obsolete approach, come mostly at a huge cost. In conclusion, there will be some merits and demerits for both the individuals and the countries if new generations decide to pursue higher education abroad.