It was predicted that people in the 21st century would have much more free time than in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true ?

With the advancements in technology and rapid industrialization, people in this generation have lots of time on their hands. In my opinion, this was predicted accurately and I totally agree that 21st century citizens can do more things they desire than the past generation. The internet changed the billions of lives with the vast resources. Information on almost everything is available and accessible to everyone. Earlier it used to take many a days or even months to know something as either we need to get in touch with the expert or read books available in limited editions where as now it is possible in a fraction of seconds. For instance, research from the Cambridge mentioned that on an average, details for this century was available in 10 minutes compared to the 10 days in the previous century. Hence, this way the current generation has got an abundance of time. Transportation transformed the world. Across the globe, people can reach to any destination within a few hours which was almost impossible earlier. There are many modes of travel like airways, metros, railways, bullet trains, trams, scooters and cars which helped us in reaching faster. For example, Delhi to Kochi in India would take 20 days of the walk, but with the help of plane it is 5 hours away. This clearly conveys that with these improvements this century people can save lots of their precious time for other activities. To conclude, it is inevitable that this century folks can do multiple things than their ancestors in the same period because of many technological advancements. This essay discussed how the internet and travel booms have given more free time for this 21st century citizens.