There is a problem today that copyright materials such as music, films and books are freely available on the internet with the result that the owners of the works lose money. Do you feel that this is a good or a bad thing?

Downloading freely available content from the internet is becoming increasingly popular nowadays. The owners of these contents are at a loss since their material is available free of cost to everyone. This essay will discuss the positive and the negative impacts of easily available online materials and provide evidence as to why it is a negative development. Firstly, an artist is not motivated when they are unable to gain any benefit from their work. In other words, poor monetary gains can often lead to a loss of interest towards their work. This further results production of low quality content by an individual. Appreciation and financial gains are essential factors motivating a person to produce best kind. Secondly, lack of sufficient monetary supplies can lead many companies to shut their doors forever, thus discouraging talented people. Furthermore, in the long run, nation might not get enough tax from the people if everyone uses things available for free online. This might affect economic progress of a country. On the other hand, for the consumers it becomes easy to get copies of their favourite movies or books online. They can avoid the hassle of first finding the store which sells these materials, and then waiting in a long queue to get the material. Another point to consider is that with abundant material available for free on the internet, people can watch them at the comfort of their own house. For instance, many websites like YouTube, torrent, "Einthusan" provide good quality copies of the latest movies within weeks of their release, as a result people prefer to watch them instead of going to the theatres. In conclusion, while there are plus points to the availability of a wide variety of content on the internet, too much is lost as a result. Free movies, books or music must not be promoted, as it deteriorates the kind of the work produced by an artist and affects economic growth of a country.