In some areas of the US, a 'curfew' is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

In certain cities in the United States, restrictions are imposed on young adult as from moving at periods of time, especially late evenings, except an older person is with them. This essay would be discussing some reasons as to why this curfew is in place and my opinion, which is that this legislation is imperative for safety reasons. More often than not, most illegal activities, crime and bad deeds often take place under the cloak of darkness, hence it is necessary that all actions are taken to ensure and protect the vulnerable, here minors. For example, kids stepping out at say 10pm to catch a movie or hang out with friends can easily be involved in drive by shootings or robberies or even kidnapping, without their knowledge as often times, they are not wise or experienced to detect when something wrong is about to happen. Furthermore, they can easily become collateral damage in some occasions. However, when in the company of a wiser human who is much advanced in age, they are covered to a higher level of protection and sense of security. For instance, a child kidnapper sights a young one and is about to pick him/her, on seeing an elderly kin, he would be scared to act and then retreat. In conclusion, others might argue that this infringement on movement does not allow for freedom and independence for children, I however believe in ensuring that their total well being, it is of the essence that curfews are in place and strictly adhered to.