Space exploration is much too expensive, and the money should be spent on more important things. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The cosmos had always been a subject that drugs attention of some curious minds on our planet. And since the second half of the 20th century, humanity has made a huge progress in space exploration. However, there are some people who reckon that the budget spent on this activity could have better use on the Earth. I strongly disagree with this statement. From my perspective, I believe that conquering the space only fosters technical and scientific development and makes the lives of civil people much easier and safer. First of all, exploring our galaxy allowed us to create new technologies and lightened our life on Earth. In the process of studying the universe, engineers invented a great number of innovative gadgets and machines that we use on a daily basis. For example, if there had not been satellites, we would not have such technologies as GPS system, mobile phones, Internet and satellite TV. With their assistance, now we can work and study from home, find a road in an unfamiliar place or just have an easy access to different types of entertainment. Secondary, observing the universe allows us to predict and foresee demolishing catastrophes, whether the menace is coming from the space or is on our planet. For instance, monitoring movement of sky objects, aims us to foresee and even prevent asteroids’ fall and take measurements to eliminate the danger or reduce its level. Another obvious example of it can be found on Earth, where scientists can spot the upcoming tsunami, volcanic eruption and other extremely dangerous disasters as well. Therefore, they can notify local authorities and evacuate inhabitants of the endangered territory. In conclusion, of course, there is no doubt that governments spend a colossal amount of money on space programs. Nevertheless, as it can be seen from the experience, humanity needs to explore the universe as it benefits our society in many ways.