Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are a variety of styles that an architect could follow to build a new dwelling. Some prefer to follow the local theme while others choose to lay out their own houses with their unique interest. In my opinion, I would like to endorse the freedom of the possessor. On the one hand, following the existing style of old houses nearby has its own advantages. Firstly, the owner could save a significant amount of designer costs when they reuse the local theme compared to the design of a novel version. Secondly, an area that has a unified house style may look more aesthetic than arbitrary ones. There are a lot of areas in the world, which are famous for their beautiful and unified house architecture. For instance, the traditional village of South Korea in Seoul, which has kept the old tone in all the new houses in that area becomes an attractive tourist destination. On the other hand, the interest of the possessor should be considered as the priority factor. Some people may live in the same dwelling for the whole of their lives; living in a home that suits their style allows them to feel happier all that long. Even they live in a place for a short period, the old fashion of a place might not meet their requirements. Furthermore, the diversity and innovation in a space design is an inspiring factor impact on human creativity and emotion; therefore, the freedom in house design should be encouraged. For example, Google and Facebook are well known for their encouraging creativity scheme; their building designs are full of colour and distinguish both inside and outside compared to other buildings nearby. Although designing a new condo referring to local architecture benefits both proprietor and local appearance, I firmly believe that the freedom to build our own new homes is an essential demand.