Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically.

It is true that the consumption of foreign foods has been proliferated recent year and this trend has some adverse effects on local cuisine and beverage industry. Although there are still drawbacks of the latter, I think its benefits are more significant. As far as it is concerned, the consumption of local dishes might be said to have certain drawbacks. One of which is the lack of diversity or exotic taste. For example, without being exposed to foreign cuisines people tend to be limited with a number of food choices. They would not have the opportunity to try out and probably enjoy the taste of the similar food which is imported from other countries. However, I would argue that the benefits of consuming domestic foods are more significant. In fact, food produced locally is more environmentally friendly and economical. The process of food production strictly controlled by many experts as a result the quality of the product is guaranteed and the waste coming from the factory can be processed more effectively. On the other hand, in terms of economic local cuisine does not require an excessive transportation, which leads to the reduction of the total cost. This means that the consumer will have to pay much lower for a domestic product compared to the high price of foreign foodstuff which attributed by its higher cost. In conclusion, the downside of eating locally produced fare is outweighed by its upside. This is, in actual fact, true from economic and environmental viewpoints.