Nowadays many of us prefer to throw damaged things away, whereas in the past people used to repair damaged items and keep them for a long time. Why has this change happened? What are the effects of this change?

In the modern world, people prefer to get rid of old and broken things rather than repair them. This seems to be happening because of the development of industries, things are more available and cheaper now than earlier. Such people’s behaviour effects destructively on the ecology of our environment. A huge number of goods are produced now, and, of course, the main goal of every manufacturer is to sell more and to make goods cheaper in producing, so advertising encourages buyers to buy more and more things. Unfortunately, sometimes these things are low quality and they quickly break or tear. For example, almost everyone uses earphones, and they stop working every a few months and everybody knows it is cheaper and quicker to buy the new one rather than restore it. Of course, such consumption badly effects on our future. Doubtless, the changes in our buying behaviour lead us to unpleasant outcomes, especially in relation to ecology. The huge amount of trash, that we produce every day, quickly cover our planet. Many people live near the landfill sites, these people get sick more often and the reason is dangerous fumes of the landfill sites. Moreover, not only people, but also other living beings suffer. Animals, birds, sea creatures are dying every day because of waste people produced. In conclusion, nowadays people use much more things than they need, companies produce a lot of goods with low quality so people had to buy more often than earlier. And unfortunately, this trend has many negative effects on the environment.