The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain in the healthcare system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity has become a worldwide problem these days and such people are draining the health budget due to an increased incidence of many diseases related to the obesity. Some people believe that the best way to tackle this issue is to put an emphasis on the physical training in the schools. I also fully agree with this, as it will produce a healthy population which will be more productive. On the one hand, more individuals are gaining weight and becoming obese now a days due to the lack of physical activity and an increased consumption of junk food. This overweight population is more prone to diseases like ischaemic heart disease, hypertension and diabetes etc. Therefore, there will be an increased burden on the country's resources. For instance, the UK has to spend 25% more on the health in 2019 due to a rising trend in the obesity related diseases. On the other hand, there is a belief that enhancing the physical education syllabus in the educational institutes will ultimately help to make the population thin, lean and active, thereby reducing the impact on the resources and I also support this idea. Now it's the responsibility of the teachers to design the routine of the pupils in such a way that more attention is to be paid for their outdoor activities like sports events, swimming competitions, races etc. For example, the USA education office has introduced new events like mountain climbing and marathon running in the 2020 forecast events for teenagers. To conclude, a balanced physique of the citizens is required for the better future of a nation and it's only possible if we focus on this at grass root level.