Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this affect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

With the expansion of giant supermarkets, small shops face difficulties in competing often resulting in them shutting down their shops. This affects the local society and for that reason, the closure of these stores must be avoided. To begin with, having small shops shut down, the community will lose the unique character that these stores add. These stores have variants of products, such as selling items imported from a different culture or region. The local stores add a special connection to people living in foreign countries and are also an opportunity for the original inhabitants to get a look into others' traditions. Additionally, individuals who are willing to start a small business may be affected by the unsuccess of these stores. Therefore these starters may lack motivation to start a business. Thus, the disappearance of small stores affects communities by unmotivating them to start a project and isolates them from connection with the diversity of our world. Therefore, it is crucial to help these stores improve their situation by promoting their products on different platforms, such as social media. Making partnerships with entrepreneurs who try their products will affect the marketing psychology of the viewers. People these days follow trends, and making publicities online will improve these local shop customers. Moreover, making some areas where small shops exist, not accessible for large supermarkets in such a neighbourhood, will make them benefit from all the clients in the area. In this way, local shops will have the opportunity to get more clients, and are less likely to close their stores. In conclusion, the disappearance of local shops affects communities by lack of unique character and unmotivating individuals to start their projects. Hence, more marketing and rules should be made to support these local store owners.