Some people think that schools are no longer necessary because people can acquire information on the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today’s era is called an internet era which is eponymous with the advancement in the pangs of digital waves all across the world. Education is the most affected sector in the modern world that generally causes people to have a difference of opinion regarding the essence of schools, as most of the information one could find is available online. However, I partially disagree with this statement. In the paragraphs to follow, I shall discuss my point of view regarding the topic. The very importance of having an institution and school is not only restricted to imparting and receiving education, but also the sense of uniformity, harmony, belongingness and brotherhood. With the uniform comes a sense of belonging to the same string of compassion, and that can never be rooted in online education. For instance, the online enrolled students today barely know who their classmates are, let alone their behaviour and a sense of bonding among each other. Moreover, helping each other out with doubts, the joy of seeing live cultural activities with a tinge of cultural diversity is unparalleled. Adding to that, a teacher-student bond of respect and second parenthood in an offline medium is extremely precious and valuable. Undoubtedly, the modern world has seen an upheaval in the education sector, with almost everything in the ambit of digital space. So the essence of having offline institutions such as schools or colleges seems to be redundant. One might get deep subject knowledge through online classes and self-paced learning. However, one shouldn’t overlook the downsides of online education and internet learning. As some say, “Information on the internet today is like an ocean, but not every part of it can be plunged into.” The essence of a teacher guiding the students in an offline medium and live mentorship can never be overshadowed by the haywire content of the internet. Hence, it is incorrect to say that offline institutions are not needed. In conclusion, we may say that the importance of offline institutions can never be displaced. Though the digital era could be an aiding hand to the offline medium of instructions, an alley can never be a wholesome alternative, and therefore, online education can never overcloud the existence of schools and colleges.