More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

There is a growing trend in which people turn to live in cities to seek more opportunities, higher salaries, etc. However, it is clear that a variety of difficulties accompany these cause trouble for the new city immigrants. So, governments should do much to improve urban life level. In terms of problems, the biggest change is the long commute time due to traffic congestion during rush hours. For instance, people who live in Beijing have to spend around an hour and a half commuting every morning and evening, whether they choose to take the subway, by buses or drive their private vehicles. The next disadvantage for urban people is obviously poor air conditioning. A substantial amount of exhaust air like CO2, NO2, is discharged from a variety of vehicles and factories. The last difficulty city residents face is significantly higher housing prices that they cannot afford. Regarding improving urban life, governments can invest in more transportation facilities, increase fuel surcharges and construct considerable public rental housing. Firstly, public transportation can effectively reduce the use of private cars and thus reduce traffic congestion. In addition, some kinds of transportation such as the subway can rapidly decrease the commuting time. Secondly, higher fuel surcharges result in the dropping of private vehicle usage which leads to a lower exhaust air level. Finally, governments should build more public rental housing for those who do not have the ability to pay for their housing rent. For instance, New Zealand has a state house system for the poor. In conclusion, there are several drawbacks to urban life, but the governments should be responsible for decreasing or even eliminating these disadvantages.