Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and your opinion.

These days, a huge number of people believe that their country should host international sporting events. However, others say that these events invite more problems than benefits. I, personally, believe that such countries should measure all possible odds before planning to host an event at the international level. To begin with, financial is a key concern to host an international sporting event as it takes billions of dollars to build the arenas and infrastructure. Moreover, many people argue that these funds must be spent on education programs or other social programs that provide direct support to the society. For example, according to recent research, which reveals, the government of India took the debt of over 1 billion rupees to host the Cricket World Cup 2019, as a result, they reduced budget for other social programs which affected the society. On the other hand, these international events bring lots of benefits as well. First and foremost, it brings honour and prestige to the local community of the country. Secondly, tourism in the country will increase sharply as it plays an integral part to boost the economy. For example, people will travel from the world to witness a sporting event. Besides, people will visit other attractions as well and spend money on shopping, restaurants, hotels, and other activities. As a result, tourism will help that country to boost the economy dramatically. Lastly, it allows the country to make its culture better known in the world. In conclusion and to offer my opinion, organizing sports events at the international level is not an easy task. The government should consider all the odds before planning any events in their country as it could affect the local community.