News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

Most of the media, TV or newspaper, use visual more often to effectively communicate the message. A fair amount of people believes that pictures speak louder than words. As far as my opinion is concerned, I agree that graphical way of representation surely has significant effects on conveying the message with exact fact and developing the interest of the reader or viewer. The primary reason why the picture display is important as it portray the exact sentiment and the facts of the news. Moreover, when a team victory is shown by using an image it depicts all the emotions and happiness on the face of each team player. In addition to that, a pictorial way of representing a natural disaster like an earthquake or flood shows the detailed damage in a more accurate manner as compared to just using words to give the details. Another point to consider is that, graphical representation is surely a mean of attraction to people of all age groups. Furthermore, if the news contains some sort of eye-catching images, adult’s attention is grabbed immediately towards it. Similarly, teenagers and young children become more attracted to sports or entertainment related news, if there is some attractive images, which are according to their interest. Thus, increasing the reader and viewers of newspaper and TV respectively. To sum up, it is true that the advantage of displaying the news in a visual format is manifold, rather than just using a textual format for information. This has increased the viewership of the channels and newspapers, and they should adopt this change to influence people.