When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Technology not only acts as a catalyst for the development of human civilization and the enhancement of the quality of life, but it also pays the way for maintaining traditional skills and ways of life. I completely disagree with the opinion that when technology develops in a country, its traditional skills will disappear and lifestyle will be changed. On the one hand, “traditional skills and ways of life ” are not automatically of one country, but of a culture or society. In many ways, the history of civilization is the history of technological development: from the discovery of fire in the iron age to the invention of the Internet. As a result, by working hard, human develops technology in order to help our life more convenient and comfortable, and create a civilized society. In fact, some technologies, such as nuclear weapons, could cause mass destruction and might impair world peace. Others, such as medical advances, positively help people live better and longer, and greatly contribute to traditional ways of life. In addition, if applying a technology reasonably, it could be beneficial. In contrast, if this technology overuse, it will pose a threat to the community and society. Chemical fertilizers and pesticides, for example, use reasonably and effectively could improve the productivity and output of crops. However, overusing them could have adverse impacts on the ecological system, environment and the health of citizens. On the other hand, technology might be praised for its contributions to the keeping alive of traditional skills and ways of life. For instance, children in many far-flung areas could be deprived of the chance to access education because the distance from their home to school or the shortage of teachers and schools. By providing computers and Internet access, children in rural areas could attend online courses that are cheap and convenient. Consequently, students could enter education, gain knowledge and qualifications, they can find a job and escape the circle of poverty when they grow older. In conclusion, despite some technologies could have a drawback effect in the community, I strongly believe that the advancement of technology contributes to the development of civilization and keeping traditional values and ways of life.