Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

It has been argued by many that the educational institutions must divide equal quota for the male and the female candidates. I don't agree with this, as the admission must be on the basis of merit rather than gender in order to give equal chances to everyone. On the one hand, there is a belief that every university must change the induction criteria and divide the seats equally among the boys and the girls. I disagree with this as it will disturb the balance in the society. Getting an education is the right of everyone and it does not follow any specific sex preference. The one who fulfils the specified criteria has the right to get admitted. Thus, if we don't follow this rule, we will lose many brains due to slot based selection. For instance, the Finland officials say that there is no field that is specifically for anyone. On the other hand, if we specify the seats, there will be a probability that the deserving candidates might not get a chance for admission, whereas a few incapable ones get selected. This will adversely affect the productivity as well as the morale of the nation. The country will be deprived of future think tanks, thus, hampering the progress of the state. For example, the government of Pakistan followed this rule of equity for 10 years and as per the statistics it has lost 55% of capable individuals in many fields. To conclude, it's better to follow the proper system where the hard work is paid at the end. There must be an open competitive induction method, so that the best ones get selected. This will bring prosperity and bounties to the land.