Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

The revolution in education is a topic of concern because people are all aware of how important education is to national development. There has been a suggestion to make unpaid social service mandatory for high school students to shape their character and increase their sense of belonging to a community. I disagree with this idea. Firstly, the main responsibility of students is to focus on study. More importantly, high school students are going to sit the university entrance examination, therefore they are too overwhelmed with reviewing and revising for such a vital exam. At the time, forcing them to work voluntarily may distract them creating more school pressure or worsening academic performance. Secondly, students should be a liberty to decide whether they will do unpaid community service or not. The voluntary work should stem from their sympathy and kindness rather than obligation. For example, requiring students to teach sports to younger children is obligatory pack will be improper, and the inhibition to do things they dislike can be reason for some violence or attack on receivers. Thirdly, it should be unfair in terms of financial matters. Many families need a loan to cover the cost of study; consequently, it would be better if their children, after school hours, could support their parents with housework or even a part of money earning. It is illegal to use child labour; nonetheless, children at high school, who are under working age, must work without payment. To some extent, this creates a contradiction. In conclusion, I strongly believe that high school students should not be required to do unpaid community work.