The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

With the continuous advancement in tourism, it is said that English, the most dominant language in the world, will eventually replace other languages and will be the only spoken tongue by everyone. While this post some great benefits, having only one language expression might also cause some drawbacks. To begin with, one of the strengths of having a sole source of speech is that it will establish better understanding between countries. For example, more places will be open for trading which will help third -world countries in improving their economic status. Secondly, not only countries will see better relationships, but also its people. It will break speech barriers, thus, creating a healthier conversation and environment for citizens all over the world. However, there are some obvious weaknesses in having an exclusive language expressed by everyone worldwide. Clearly, there is so much history associated in a person’s language. In ancient times, poets will use a different language to express their love or tell their stories. For this reason, it created an interest for other people to go outside of their comfort zones and the urge to learn the cultural difference of a foreign language. Therefore, tourism will decline if other languages are to be forgotten, as there will be no other things to be learned anymore. Consequently, it will specifically destroy poorer countries who largely depend on the tourism industry. In conclusion, while there are positive notes with having only one language widely spoken by the public, there are more serious threats to it. In other words, language is not only a tool to exchange information, but a symbolic system to share one’s history, beliefs and values.