Many offenders commit more crime after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening and what can be done to tackle this problem?

A large number of criminals commit more crime after serving their prison sentence. There are a few reasons why they choose to break the law again, this is mainly because of lack of rehabilitation and due to poverty. There are also a number of solutions to solve the issue and supervise them once they have been released out of the prison. To begin with, one of the major reasons why criminals commit more crime is because of there is not enough support programs while they were imprisoned. This means that offenders are not given a chance to acquire new skills or hobbies which they can use outside of imprisonment. Moreover, once they have been released, they are more subject to scrutiny since they have a criminal record. In other words, the majority of the businesses would likely not employ them because of a first bad impression. As a result, since most criminals came from the low-income families, they are likely to develop the urge to violate the law again as they will need money to survive. However, these issues can be prevented if the government will allocate certain funds to help the prisoners inside the jail to better themselves. For example, establishing on-the-job training, apprenticeships or even vocational certification, which they can include in their experience to find for a job when they get discharged. Also, probationary officers should be able to act as references for felons who are really improving and changing so they find jobs. Moreover, to prevent more crimes, there should be more strict and consistent supervision for people who got out of jail to ensure that they will comply with their probationary guidelines. To conclude, offenders can be prevented to commit criminal acts should they get more rehabilitation like technical trainings and more surveillance supported by the government.