Children in many countries are eating more fast food and convenience snacks. Why are children doing this and hoxw serious are the consequences?

It is globally argued that children are more and more selecting fast food and convenience snacks over home-cooked meals. While this food has less nutritional value and harmful for health than cooking meals at home, it still quickly attractive to the younger generation. There are numerous reasons that are driving children towards unhealthy selection. To commence with, it is known that more and more huge fast- food chains are appearing. First of all, fast food chains are being spread to all corners of the earth and they are easily approachable these days as compared to earlier times. For instance, McDonald’s restaurant chains has gradually taken over the market in the world, and their food is appealing so much for children. Moreover, fast- food is reasonably priced and children want to try these selections so that fast- food consumption is increasing rapidly. Another reason is that their parents are always busy working. Since they must go out to work, they hardly ever prepare a meal for their family, 70% of Vietnamese families eat out on the weekend instead of cooking at home. On the other hand, the overconsumption of fast food can affect children's health. As fast- food and convenient snacks generally taste good, it can increase cholesterol, which puts a harmful effect on the functioning of the heart. In other words, eating fast food frequently can cause obesity in some children, and it may mean an unbalanced diet, with too much processed and sweet food. Last but not least, children eating fast food and convenient snack regularly that they will easily get used to spending money. This can create poor money management of children in adulthood. To put in a nutshell, fast food is available and not overpriced, it has less nutrition than home-cooked meals. If children consume too much fast food, it will lead to many serious illnesses. Personally, I think that children should eat home-cooked nutritious food and every individual should follow the diet instructions to keep fit and healthy.