As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

Perhaps with the industrial revolution more and more people are satisfying their never ending demand of materialistic things, trend of buying expensive and personal cars is one such example. However, increasing demand of car is hampering the environment in a dismissive way. Apparently, poor connectivity of public transportation has inclined people to utilise their own vehicles, relatively 20% of the population prefer public transportation. Hence, these are the people belonging to low income group or senior citizens. Besides, personal car eradicates the dependency on others and reinforces the value of self-sufficiency among individuals. Nowadays, car manufacturers are amalgamating engines which produce less pollution and hence, is eco-friendly. For instance, In India after 2019, all the cars are being manufactured with BS 6 engines popularly known as Bharat stage 6 in order to impede pollution. On the contrary, as every household is having the same number of cars as members, it is adulterating the environment and causing global warming. According to the report by the UK association it was found in the UK every household have at least three cars and on an average UK solely contributes 5% of the pollution emission. Subsequently, global warming is resulting in depletion of the ozone layer, as a result, which is also destroying the natural habitat of flora and fauna. Apart from this, pollution fosters the health problems in humans, for instance, asthma, liver infection and cardiovascular problems. In conclusion, disadvantages outweighs the advantages. Although, own vehicle is making everyone independent, but at the cost of endangering the environment.