Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often thought that a very efficient way to persuade the public to purchase a certain product is through advertising. Although some might disagree as the practice is considered as overrated, so we do not pay much attention to it. I believe that creative marketing will always attract customer, regardless of the situation. The commercials that you have seen so frequently on televisions are carefully thought out by a number of professionals. They used subliminal details, like the colour scheme or even the jingle softly playing to make sure that the audience remembers the products anytime something related to it pops out, be it on a billboard or even pamphlets. Therefore, even though people have no initial desire to buy these things, their subconscious will motivate them to do otherwise. Advertising could backfire if it is done too often. The constant persuasion to buy a certain thing will annoy the general public. An interesting example occurred in 2019, a company which specializes in vitamins went all out with their marketing by recruiting numerous influences to promote their product. However, the outcome of this method is shocking. As opposed to getting an increased sale in the vitamins, they get a 25.000 dollar lawsuit filed by a bunch of instagram users because they felt like I think that creative marketing is crucial to the success of a company. A business should find innovative ways to introduce a product without being considered “over the top” as the ultimate goal of advertising is to make sure that the goods are both acknowledged and interesting to the public. In conclusion, advertising is highly efficient to attract customers because it considers the psychological factors, but it could also have an undesirable outcome if it is not done the proper way.