The world has many towns and cities constructed in previous centuries that were more suitable and livable for people in those times than they are now. What problems will this cause? What can be done to solve these problems?

In contemporary societies, despite the development of science and technology, there has been a belief that ancient structural towns in the past were more appropriate and vibrant for people to live in than modern buildings. This circumstance can cause many problems, including the adverse influence on the environment and the loss of urban beauty, yet it can be addressed by the government's action in transforming these regions into historic preservation. The principle issue led by the maintenance of old buildings is the negative impact on urban ecosystems. This is because if there were no construction of new amenities and buildings, there would be no qualified facilities to resolve an excessive amount of domestic and industrial waste, leading to bad hygiene in the communities. Furthermore, it is dangerous for many natural forests to remain with those outdated infrastructures due to the fact that it can motivate deforestation for cutting-edge facilities, contributing to the increase in carbon dioxide in the atmosphere. As a consequence, environmental pollution will become more and more severe if the ancient structures are still maintained. The destruction of urban scenery must also be noticed. In other words, paralleling the lack of specialized equipment and facilities, citizens will have no place for putting trash, motivating the situation of littering everywhere. In addition, it would be easy to understand that old designs and styles of buildings can destroy the beauty of a city. In this situation, the citizens’ satisfaction can not only disappear, but that urban area loses the number of migrants and tourists annually on account of a lack of picturesque views as well. Take China as a pertinent example, where most of their cities were very old and disastrous, affecting the experience of tourists and the feelings of dwellers in those zones. According to the authorities’ policies and initiatives, many politicians, however, implement them to convert those historical places to conservation. They presume that if they turned those areas into historical conservation, it would not only develop the tourism industry but also help to increase the degree of cities’ beauty, which can enhance citizens’ satisfaction and attract more people to reside there. For this reason, they tend to plan to build more state-of-the-art amenities and rearrange the land use in those regions appropriately to improve the quality of living conditions rather than sustain the ancient infrastructure. Hence, it is not difficult to comprehend why urbanization and modernization are widespread globally. Taking all points into account, the possible problems caused by this adaptation are the rise of environmental impacts and the disappearance of urban views. Nevertheless, this can be tackled by the immediate action of the government to preserve those historical places.