Many people play sport when they are young, but then stop when they become adults. Why do so many adults stop doing physical exercise? What can be done to solve this problem?

The age-old adage, "All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy" stands true till date. Many people will unquestionably agree that they were more athletic and actively involved in games during their childhood days than they are now. This essay will illustrate some of the reasons why we cut down on physical activities as we grow old. In addition, we will explore possible ways to solve this impending issue. To begin, it is certainly true to say that as grownups much of our time is spent on keeping up with the demanding requirements of our daily lives. It could be anything, from dealing with long commutes to the workplace or college, handling tasks at the office, attending back-to-back lectures, or even staying at home to take care of the kids and managing the household chores. Although sounding mundane, these tasks are indeed quite exhausting. By the end of the day, one is completely drained of energy and there is hardly any time left for adults to go out and exercise. While they fondly reminisce their favourite childhood sports, people rarely make efforts to get back to playing again. To illustrate further, a recent survey of 1,000 adults revealed that 60% would like to pick up on any physical fitness programme, agreeing to its long term health benefits, However, cited the paucity of time as the primary reason for inaction. To find a solution, we need to delve into the activities of our sedentary lifestyle. One immediate plausible solution is to review our regular habits and tweak them a bit to adopt a healthier way of life. Introducing walking or stretching as simple exercises to our everyday routine can be immensely rewarding. For instance, one could start the day with a little stretching while brushing their teeth, incorporate walking for 10% of their daily commute. Another practical habit could be walking when answering phone calls. These modest changes can have drastic effects on the fitness level of people. To further demonstrate the effectiveness, a recent article in the April'20 edition of the Health magazine showcased that people who added just 30 minutes of walking to their daily routine, reported lower levels of cholesterol. In conclusion, the health benefits of any form of physical activity cannot be denied. Let us not allow the responsibilities of an adult life to mar the fitness levels. It is imperative to be somewhat active lest all work and no play, makes us all very dull.