It was predicted that people in the 21 century would have much more free time than in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

There was a prediction that modern citizens would have more free time in comparison with previous epochs. In this essay, I will consider if this expectation became our reality. I assume that the prediction was quite precise because, with the appearance of technological advances, humanity has become freer from domestic chores and has more spare time for the other activities. For instance, our ancestors spend a lot of time doing laundry, cleaning a house, while modern people have washing machines, vacuum cleaners, and other appliances. Thus, today these items save our time significantly and domestic work has become more energy-efficient and less time -consuming. In addition, machines save a person’s time not only at home, but at work as well. They do a great deal in the industry, agriculture, or a modern office, replacing energy and time -consuming operation by faster machine operation and procedures. In addition, improvements in the transportation system and infrastructure allowed people to travel in the blink of an eye. To illustrate, in the past a journey from one country to another could take months. Meanwhile, with the appearance of aviation even more remote areas can be reached for a couple of days. Thus, modern transport saves a bunch of time and let people travel around the world and have quality time. Previously, the idea to visit Paris or another foreign city on the weekend could be recognized as ridiculous, today it is quite feasible and appropriate. In conclusion, I think that it was predicted accurately enough that individuals of the 21st century would have more spare time than it was in the past. This is because the invention of modern technologies and advances in transport hugely saves time and let the public use it for the creative process and other activities.