One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Along with the medical service advancement, human longevity has been prolonged tremendously, which has come to a disputation considering the merits and the demerits of the phenomenon. The following essay will grant us a chance to get a closer insight into both sides of the argument and determine whether the extension of lifespan is beneficial to the long-term development of the human civilization. On the one hand, the life expectancy extension that goes along with a healthy state does benefit not only the society but also the family. Firstly, that people are healthy as they get older as the result of the improvement in medical care means they are enabled to keep making contributions to the surrounding community. The elderly people can delay their retirement or do some part-time jobs after retiring as long as they are in a good state of health. Secondly, the retirees can give a hand to their family by taking care of the house as well as the grandchildren. Working parents can leave their children in safe hands while at work. The breadwinners therefore are facilitated to make the most of their time to their work. On the other hand, an increase in life expectancy can pose some negative impacts on the social development. In the first place, when the number of people died by illness decreases, there will probably be a loss in the balance of the population scale. That the proportion of old population rises makes the society wanting in young work force, which baffles the long-term advancement of the country just like Japan in recent years. Moreover, human may witness the population explosion as the death rate is inversely proportional to the birth rate. Consequently, there will be a rise in demands for public services, jobs, living space. All things considered, the lifespan prolonging allows people to continue working, however, it also causes some difficulties baffling the development of society. From my moral perspective, although the phenomenon is far more disadvantageous, people from all walks of life have a right to be cared and to live longer.