In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving this message?

For some time now, it has become a topic of debate that in a few societies, usually children are taught the lesson that they can acquire anything if they do diligent task to achieve the same. Everything has two sides and children can fulfil their desires by any means is not an exception, as on one hand, it enhances their skills, whereas on the other hand, it creates a virtual world to achieve the unrealistic goal around them which seems detrimental in practical life. We must acknowledge the fact that one of the positives of edifying the children that they can get the desired goal in life by performing strenuous work is that it gives a sense of exaltation and they feel it as a unique experience of a lifetime. Getting the set target simulates the adrenaline rush in them despite of so many hurdles on the way. Furthermore, the individuals get the opportunity to pave their own path to fulfil the target and in this journey they undoubtedly learn so many new skills that are beneficial for them later too. A recent survey conducted reveals that 70 percent of the children who have set goals are more successful than others in life. Thus the advantages of such teaching are the person has a feeling of contentment and compassion and they imbibe many skills. Nevertheless, although trying hard to achieve the goal has copious benefits, the competitive mind-set also has drawbacks in the children's holistic development. Children can unconsciously suffer from the dilemma in which doing hard work is the only way to prove their mettle in spite of smart work. Moreover, because of striving hard to achieve the unrealistic goals can often lead them into depression. An example of this nowadays is the insecurity and pressure being faced by the adolescents which force them to take traumatised steps like committing suicide. Hence, the children should not be always told to achieve goals as this can be the reason for the dissatisfaction. To conclude, it can be summarised that although having a set goal plays a dynamic role in shaping the child's skills in a particular direction, the drawbacks associated with it are threatening for youth and the parents and deteriorates their overall development.