A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, there has been a radical change in the way people are valued. Today, ethics, integrity and kindness or rarely taken into account, as individuals opine that money and social status or what matter most. Although I believe that having values is essential, I do not deny the critical role social status and wealth have. To start with, human beings ought to be ruled by their values and ethics, as these things differentiate us from animals. When living the life without disciplining ourselves, without endeavouring to be better and having something to look forward to, then the life is valueless. For instance, being benign and amiable will enforce respect from other people, whereas lying and behaving in a deplorable way will make the person worthless. Thus, having values is indispensable. On the other hand, material possessions and social status are also important. As these qualities make an individual independent and not needing anyone else's help, but the contrary is true. A prosperous and respected person is always valued and needed by other people, and that is what makes an individual valuable. In contrast, kind hearted, honest and impoverished person does not matter, all of the features vanish when not having anything people need. Furthermore, being from a higher class, surrounded by rich, intellectual and important people brings many knowledge, Experiences and reinforces self-esteem, and a person of these qualities is definitely worthy. In conclusion, if there is anything that makes us distinguishable from other living things, then it is certainly our ethics, so an individual needs to nurture good values. However, being from a high class around valuable people and having many acquisitions and properties are what make a person deemed important and respected by others.