Some people believe that competitive sports have a positive effect on children’s education, while others believe there is no place for such sports in schools.Discuss both points of view and give your own opinion.

With the advent of competitions in sports, more and more people subscribe to the view that children take benefits from participating in competitive sports in school curriculum. However, this notion has been reported by several people, who consider that these challenges may be a complete waste of time. This essay will elaborate on the arguments and show sports activities have more merit. On the one hand, it is understandable why many people opt for including competitive sports in school curriculum. The first reason is that it promotes children’s health, which consists of physical and mental health. Playing sports may boost the resistance to obesity, diabetes and other diseases and it is a good way of doing the exercise. Moreover, competitive sports help children relieve stress, depression and emotional problems caused by tensions in relationships. As a result, they are likely to be more relaxed, tireless and energetic. Furthermore, it is suggested that changing sports enhance children’s skills such as: setting their goals, sharpening the leader skill and organising teamwork. For example, if students take part in a sport match, they are likely to collaborate to strive for defeating the rival. Hence, the fighting spirits help them how to work to achieve their certain goal and increase their responsibility for the team. On the other hand, it is argued that challenging sports are time-consuming and this may distract children’s attention from their own study.If children do not balance between studying and playing, they may be attracted by rounds in competitive sports and this leads to lack of concentration on their studies and miss the lessons in class. As a result, they are likely to fail the exam and worsen their education. In conclusion, competitive sports has benefits and drawbacks. While it may make children’s education worsen, it brings them important skills if they know to manage their time. Personally, I believe that challenging sports should spread widely thanks to its huge advantages.