There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, many young people are under the pressure of academic study to succeed. Some people argue that non-academic subjects such as P.E. or cookery are not necessary and should be abolished from the school syllabus to allow children to concentrate on their studies. However, I disagree with this opinion. In this essay, I will explain for the benefits of learning non-academics and give my opinion. Firstly, children can learn society rules and communication skills from non-academic subjects. For example, when they do some sports in P.E. class, they need to follow many rules. And they will also understand that teamwork is essential to win games. Obey the rules and communication will be important in most workplaces which they will belong to when they grow up, so children should learn them by doing sports naturally. In addition, some non-academic subjects can provide knowledge of human health. For instance, children can learn about healthy ingredients and their nutrition in a cookery class. Even if a lot of adults today don't know about it, and then, people are suffering illnesses which are caused by their unhealthy foods. Thus, I believe that learning about food and understanding their health and health problems from when they are still young age is necessary for children. In conclusion, some people say that subjects which are unrelated to academic work should be removed but I believe they are important to live our society when children become adults. If people consider seriously about future of children, they notice the importance.