Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

An increase in crime has been an important issue in civilization. To a certain extent I agree that solving this problem is by placing criminals in jail. However, I believe that education is an effective method to reduce evil rate. On the one hand, I agree that inflicting a criminal to jail is an effective way to punish them because they incur a punishment suitable for the offence. In this way, it keeps them far away from society, which ensures the safety of other citizens. For example, violent offenders who kill someone need be isolated themselves from the community, so prison is the best deterrent for their actions. Moreover, strict sentences help to prevent violation. These judgments warn that criminals will be arrested, be separated from their relationships, and live a miserable cell; therefore, those who intend to break the law would reconsider their path. On the other hand, I believe that education and training are more suitable programs for lawbreakers who are teenagers or misdemeanours. For example, many teens commit an offend because of a lack of general knowledge, so legal courses in schools and universities will help them to distinguish between the standard and unusual behaviours, which can reduce the crime rate. Additionally, as poverty is one of the causes of crime, providing job training allows them to find a job. Besides, educating criminals may help them to integrate into the community and live a better life after they finish their punishments. In conclusion, the purpose of ways is to create a better humanity. While confining dangerous criminals in prison protect the community, education gives people a chance to be productive members of the nation. I think that both methods should give equal consideration.