Some people claim that there are more disadvantages of the car than its advantages. Do you agree or disagree? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a car.

It has been argued by many that keeping a car is more troublesome rather than an ease. I totally disagree with this, as the vehicle not only reduces the distances, but has also made our lives comfortable. On the one hand, the current era of science and technology has increased the pace of life, as one has to travel long distances to earn the bread and butter. This is not possible without owning a ride, as it's the need of hour today and I also believe the same. Keeping a trouble free motorcar has become a necessity, as it helps us to move about and cover the long journeys within hours. Moreover, we can discover new places, visit our relatives and perform our duties in far flung areas without hesitation and discomfort. For instance, according to a research in the USA, about 80% of the Americans owns a transport to earn their living. On the other hand, there is a belief that this modern transportation system has made the individuals lazy and increased the incidence of heart diseases. Secondly, there is an enormous rise in pollution due to heavy traffic. Furthermore, there is an exponential increase in roadside accidents, thereby not only making the persons crippled, but has also overburdened the health budget. For example, the French government has introduced a law that only single sedan can be bought by a family of four persons and that too an Eco friendly one. To conclude, apart from many drawbacks, the car has become a basic necessity in order to stay abreast with the speed of the world and to have a hassle free travelling.