Some people believe that teachers should be responsible for teaching students the difference between right and wrong. Other says that teachers should only teach academic subjects.

Teacher’s responsibility has grabbed many headlines for years because of its importance. Whereas many people emphasize the importance of teaching moral principles, others convince that children should only be taught academic knowledge by their teachers. This essay aims to elaborate on both opinions and present the writer’s perspective. On the one hand, teaching only academic subjects has numerous advantages. First of all, this approach helps improve intellectual skills. For example, when students study Math, they will learn how to identify and analyse the problem. Therefore, they can enhance their problem-solving and critical ability. Moreover, studying only academic knowledge can also assist students in acquiring social knowledge in different fields. For instance, in Geography, students will learn more about different cultures and lifestyles around the world or in Information Technology, they will access to modern gadgets and know how to apply them in work and study. This academic knowledge will improve pupils’ flexibility and confidence in daily activities. By contrast, the teaching of moral principles may take time away from academic knowledge, which will decrease academic success. As parents can deliver ethical lessons, there is no need for teaching staffs. However, I would agree with those who believe that teachers should take the responsibility of teaching ethical lessons. Firstly, students can distinguish between socially acceptable and accusable capable of being reached accessible behaviours, which may assist them in staying away from anti-social behaviours. Moreover, the young can develop their good manners that are useful in their integration in school and society because the absence of proper behaviours may make them alienated from the community. As working parents are busy with professional duties, they don’t have sufficient time for childcare, let alone teaching them right and wrong. Hence, they need attention from the teaching staffs in moral education. Additionally, teaching delivers moral principals and they have appropriate disciplines to address misbehaviours, which will help students to become law-abiding citizens. In conclusion, teaching academic subjects and moral principles are equally important to the young. However, from my perspective, I would strongly agree that the responsibility of teachers in teaching ethical lessons is heavy.