It is Important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Recently, there has been a drastic debate over whether parents and teachers should aid children to learn the difference between right and wrong when they are young. In my personal viewpoint, I find it necessary for parents and teachers to help children tell right from wrong. When children are young, they have not already shaped their values towards the world, which means it is important and easier to frame their core values. During this period, shaping their perceptions can be easy. Once their values have framed, it can be extremely hard to reshape them, and will cause huge conflicts between the senior and children. Therefore, parents and teachers ought to take full advantage of this time to educate children. In the process of this kind of education, there has possibility to punish children in order to help them get rid of kinds of bad behaviour. In my opinion, there are several ways to punish them. Firstly, limiting the time for children to watch TV or other any of various alternatives; some other another entertained activities. Limiting their recreational events’ time can help them realize the mistakes they made. Besides, punishing them for standing in the corner could be another good method for them to reflect themselves. However, physical punishment cannot be applied to educate children, this can not only cause some harms on physically, but also mentally, which will do harm to their further development when they grow up. In addition, forfeiting them to do housework also make sense. By doing housework, children can understand the tiredness of parents to take care of family, which can cultivate them to form a sense of responsibility. As far as I am concerned, education plays a key role in children self-development. I believe that parents and teachers, helping children form good habits and cultivate their own values when children are young can be beneficial. Thus, we should pay enough attention to the education of children.