In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

People these days are more and more tend to settle down in big cities, whereas in the past, most people chose to live in a hamlet. There were advantages and disadvantages to being a member of a small community. In my view, there were four benefits. First of all, everyone lived together so it was easy to help each other if they need. When we had an accident or faced with troubles, our neighbours who stayed beside us was able to care and lent us a hand. Secondly, we were easier to visit our relatives and celebrate important holidays mutually cause we lived near them. Thirdly, the children also had more friends to play with so that they could learn social skills. Last but not least, people might not to study or work far from their house. Therefore, they could spend much money for transportation and had time for family. On the other hand, not living in a large city had its own inconveniences. I believe that people had a lack of knowledge about the world outside. In modern society, if we just live in a small group, we cannot improve and advance ourselves. In addition, people might have less chance to get a good job or study in better schools. In my conclusion, the advantages of living in a small community were greater than the disadvantages. People had less chance to get more experiments, but all together they formed a strong relationship and they never lonely because they supported and helped each other when having problems.