Some people claim that not enough of waste product from homes is recycled. They say that the only to increase recycling is for the governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There have been a lot of claims that only a handful of domestic wastes is recycled from the mountain of recyclable rubbish generated from homes. It is believed that waste recycling should be made legislation as a means of encouraging this act. This essay disagrees with this recommendation and will elucidate in the following paragraphs. It is without a doubt that enormous recyclable products are discarded on a daily basis from homes and this builds up to environmental pollutions. A possible culprit of this could be due to limited knowledge and information about the importance as well as the process of rubbish recycling. For example, a survey conducted in Nigeria by the Environmental Health Society revealed that 80% of the residents are not knowledgeable of the materials to be discarded, hence the throw away everything with the general waste. So this shows that without the basic education, this problem will linger on. Consequently, without awareness and public enlightenment about the process of rubbish recycling, imposition of such law will not be enforced and is likely to be unsuccessful. This could result to resentments rather than cooperation from the population since this process begins from home. Therefore, education and public awareness will go a long way in yielding more desirable results. In conclusion, I think that imposing a waste recycling law by the government will not promote compliance rather this should be done when all other means prove abortive. A better approach is promoting public knowledge and creating general awareness on the benefits of refuse recycle for the environment.