Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

Shopping is the very prominent among the people and it is the free-time activity. Nowadays, it is becoming famous and trendy where people spend their free time either in shopping malls or exploring the online e-commerce website. There are many arguments about its pros and cons. I am writing the reasons of shopping popularity and effects on the individual and the community. First and foremost is that shopping is considered as leisure activity which includes a plethora of products such as apparel stores, sports section, cosmetics shopping, and watching movies. In shopping complex, there is an abundance of small stores where people can purchase the things according to their needs. For instance, most of the malls have food courts where people can enjoy different kinds of cuisines. Secondly, in festive seasons, most of the brands offer heavy discount on their products in order to attract the customers. Moreover, in online shopping, there is no need to visit the physical stores. For instance, we can do online orders by using various e-commerce platforms like Amazon, Flipkart. Additionally, there are chances for economic growth. People may be encouraged to go for new businesses and more job opportunity will be created for persons in these businesses. On the flip side, there are some disadvantages of shopping which is adversely affecting the humanity. Sometimes, people do unnecessary shopping which burns a hole in the pocket. Therefore, they have to face heavy burdens of debts and they have no money to save. Furthermore, most individuals are becoming Shopaholic and they jeopardize their lives by doing shopping for themselves. In conclusion, this trend has a positive impact on both the nation and the individuals. It benefits the society by increasing economic activity, but I personally feel that people are addicted to it and they even buy the things which they do not need.