The best way to prevent people from smoking is to impose high taxes on tobacco products. In this way, people will be less likely to develop a long-term addiction to smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When it comes to smoking, some believe that governments have to legislate new laws regarding taxation of tobacco products in order to decline individuals' addiction to smoking. I firmly agree with this viewpoint due to two compelling reasons. First and foremost, should people pay more for smoking products, the rate of cigarette smoking will substantially decrease. By setting high tobacco taxes, smokers are required to pay an additional fee for each package of cigarettes they buy. This results in financial stress on them, which acts as a hindering factor and would discourage them from buying these products. Due to well-proved studies of craving mechanism, once a person has difficulty finding addictive substances, the possibility of giving up this habitual action will highly increase. For instance, coming from a developing country to Canada, which the cigarette is much more expensive, my friend finds it hard to afford to buy his daily packet of cigarettes. Therefore, he first decreased the number of smokes, and subsequently, after three months, he entirely quitted smoking. Additionally, by increasing taxation on tobacco products, governments can take steps to tackle this problem efficiently. Should policy-makers have more revenue to invest in long-term educational approaches, they will be able to allocate enough money to increase the younger generation's knowledge about this issue. Moreover, politicians can use the income acquired from tobacco taxation to provide subsidies to those who want to go through a quitting program. Because in recent climate, these methods are usually not affordable for most people, they are not popular ways of quitting tobacco. For example, the Champix method is a salient here. As this quitting method is costly, people can conveniently use it and give up their long-term lousy habit by being supported financially. In Conclusion, due to preventing effects that high taxes on tobacco can have on people using these products, as well as financially supports governments can provide, the rate of tobacco addiction among people would be decreased if high tobacco taxes become legislated.