Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvanatges of being self-employed?

In contemporary society, work-life balance has consistently been a topic of interest among the masses. One prevailing view is that many people changed their work statuses to self-employed recently. While there are compelling arguments in favour of this perspective, there are also significant reasons to approach it with scepticism. This essay will explain the phenomenon and discuss the disadvantages of this trend. It is clear that we are now living in a digital world, due to the improvement of the internet and social media such as YouTube shorts and Instagram reels, more and more people are trying to become influencers online. The trend and the thriving industry encourage people to establish self-studio and be the boss of themselves. Moreover, in 2020, the whole world suffered in the pandemic of Covid-19. Through the tough times, the public started to learn how to work from home and still be productive. The freedom of time and the feeling of staying in the comfort zone let people do not want to go back to the office and change to become self-employed. Obviously, being self-employed means that people can spend more time at home and accompany their parents or children. The freedom of not going to an office and not needing to reply to any requests begging from annoying managers can increase one's happiness and energy, and even give people a chance to fulfil the dream that may not have the opportunity and time to start. However, the aforementioned perspective overlooks the disadvantages such as the instability of salary and the depressed feeling of not interacting with other colleagues. What is more, the more time the family members stay together the more quarrels will happen. The worries of not having enough money for a quality life can even be a point of having a fight between couples. Such mentions challenge the initial assertion and suggest that there are numerous defects of being a self-worker. In my opinion, although the advantages of being self-employed might not outweigh the disadvantages, the joy of freedom and satisfaction of attempting to fulfil one's dream can make the sacrifice of a high-quality life worth it. In conclusion, the phenomenon of the statement that many people become self-employed is because people can realize the dream of work-life balance and the benefits of being self-employed are more attractive than the disadvantage such as the instability of the amount of salary. Therefore my allegiance that being a self-worker is a modern trend is steadfastly and remains incontroversitly firm.