Due to development and rapid expansion supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that the closing of small scale businesses will cause the demise of local communities because of the rapid growth of supermarkets and the inability of small shops to compete. In my opinion, I agree that the termination of local shops will bring about an end to the local areas. Firstly, many local people cannot afford the prices of goods from these large stores. Secondly, most of these supermarkets are situated far away from rural areas. In the modern society, there are many supermarkets in all the towns and cities. People love to shop in the supermarkets because they are providing more discounts and coupons to customers which attract the people. On the other hand it is more convenient to buy everything in one place which is easy and save a lot of time for the shoppers. In additional they are handling good customer care service. For example, they give customer return policy which we can return damage item. However, Lack of traditional retail stores in a locality may pose some problems for the local population. For instance, People have to travel to the nearest shopping centre to get the items. Which is more expensive and time consuming activity compared to getting the items from local shops. In addition to this, in case of any emergency, when people do not have much time to waste to get the item, lack of local shops may put them in more trouble. For example, if some visitors turn up unexpectedly, the presence of small stores nearby will help people to treat them well. In conclusion, the closure of small businesses will signal the end of local communities because of the high cost of goods from such supermarkets and the far distances created by the building of such large shops. Despite If local businesses are given the right resources to thrive, there will be no need to close their businesses.