Some people believe that children at secondary school should be streamed, i.e. taught in classes according to ability, rather than being taught in mixed-ability classes. Do you think the advantages of streaming children at secondary school outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people consider streaming based on students’ abilities as more beneficial and efficient than mixed-ability classes. There may be some advantages to such a grouping approach, however, I personally believe that the drawbacks of this one outweigh the benefits. The key advantage of streaming is making teachers’ work less challenging as it helps to focus on teaching pupils of a similar level. Therefore, it may ease the teaching process as educators no longer have a need to pace back and force to make sure the whole class understands a particular topic. As a result, they are able to select the appropriate pace of teaching based on the overall pupils’ level to create an efficient and productive studying environment. Having said that, however, I believe that such a way of grouping harms the studying process because of developing unpleasant connections between pupils, especially at the secondary level of school. Labeling students as “bright” ones and “less smart” ones will lead to constant arguments and competitiveness among children because of youthful ruthless and harshness. The reason why I see the mixed-ability class as more successful is that pupils are encouraged to work harder since the whole class progresses together. Thus, any struggles of the pupils with lower levels will be assisted by the teacher at the end of a lesson or after school. Also, I reckon that such grouping will encourage pupils to help each other during school days as well. Such a teaching approach will enable slow learners to keep up with their classmates. To sum up, we can see that streaming cannot possibly overtake mixed-ability classes due to its major drawbacks such as development of dreadful relationships between pupils as a result of grouping them based on abilities.