in some cultures children are taught by their parents that they can achieve anything with hard work what are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

Parents, nowadays, are preaching their children to work hard and are also making them believe that everything can be gained in this way. While it is important to make children aware of the indispensable nature of hard effort in realising one's goals, laying over emphasis on it can have dangerous side effects. This essay will both advantages and disadvantages of this trend. As far as advantages are concerned, there is a myriad of these. Firstly, teaching children to work hard makes them more successful in life. To put it differently, there is no denying to the fact that being industrious, always pays and by making children to acknowledge the fact that being laborious is an inevitable step in the path of success parents are increasing their chances of becoming successful in life. For instance, people who learn the importance of the struggle, become greater leaders and entrepreneurs. Moreover, laying more stress on hard work also improves the personality of a person. To explain further, a person who himself is diligent, is always respectful of the efforts of others. Thus, making him humble and considerate of others. However, there are also a few disadvantages of this trend. The main disadvantage of this practice is its deceptive nature. This is to say, even though the struggle is the key to success, it is not the only thing which leads to victory. To explain, sometime other factors like luck and circumstances overpower all efforts. Hence, shattering the hopes of a person. For an illustration, a child may work hard whole year to secure first rank in the annual exam, but may fall ill just a day before the examination, therefore resulting in unexpected failure. To conclude, although hard work is an essential lesson to be taught to the children by the parents, since it makes them more successful and a better human being, overemphasizing the fact that it can help achieve something is incorrect. Since victory depends upon many other factors too. Hence, the concept of hard work should be introduced wisely to the younger generation, in order to protect them from the potential side effects.