Prevention is better than cure. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

I believe that steps should be taken to avoid various viral diseases, before it’s too late. I will explain, why preventative measures are necessary for the world to fight the viruses. To begin with, we live in a world where different viruses and bacteria have become stronger than before. Once a virus emerges, it is really hard to eradicate it, and it will require huge research costs to identify and finally produce a right vaccine. Preventative measures such as an investment to make a stronger health care system, and educating people to take the necessary measures to avoid the certain diseases are the need of the hour. For example, the recent pandemic has resulted in countries to bear the huge economic loss, because of the worldwide lockdowns. In addition, planning to implement the preventative measures allows countries to think ahead, and it could save a nation from bearing a great loss of human lives. Governments should impose strict laws related to the avoidance of the diseases, and impose heavy fines on those violating it. For instance, in countries like the UAE, the Government has enforced huge penalties on those who don’t keep the minimum social distancing, and fails to wear face masks in public, during the current pandemic situation. To conclude, important steps should be taken to plan and implement preventative measures, to avoid further losses. Furthermore, strict laws should be enforced to avoid loss of precious lives.