Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences.Others, however, believe better education in crime is the key. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The rate of crime has been alarmingly high increased, thereby, citizens argue about possible solutions that reducing it. Some sets of people said that the much longer jail period is the solution to handle this matter, however, others believe that educating offenders is the best solution to deal with. I personally agree with the latter opinion. Some folks believe that strict punishments have benefits to both our community and prisoners. In the first place, for instance, if people heard the news that the period of remaining prison longer than before, everyone will be in a fear of punishments and they care about their actions. Consequently, it will lead to preventing legal violations in society. Another reason worth mentioning is that prisoners can be realised the consequence of their offences. The jurisdiction department is blamed for the weak laws that offenders not punished enough and it leads to other crimes. If the offenders remain in prison longer, they will have more moment to regret their wrongdoings and realised the outcome of their offences. Others think that education might help to reduce the number of crimes in that offenders should back to ordinary life after a certain period. First of all, as far as the function of the prison, it does not only protect the normal population's living safety from various crimes, but make also the criminals a better person who can live in the right way. From the perspective of criminals, they cannot earn a living cost due to they will have a hard term getting a job after releasing. This is because they spend considerable time in jail, compared to a person with a degree or skills. When it comes to they cannot get an occupation, they are highly likely to break laws again. In this regard, they should learn some basic skills or knowledge required in society to live with others. If they learn skills, such as engineering or cultivating plants, therefore, they might earn their living costs using skills. As a result, they are not willing to break the law since they do not want to give up their stable life. In the long term, it will reduce crime rates. In conclusion, the longer periods in jail seem a practical way, conversely, it is hard to deny that it is not a fundamental way. Educating offenders might take a long day to prove the effects, on the flip side, it will help our community in a long-term aspect, hence, the government should pay attention to prisoners' education.