Society is becoming obsessed with material good like cars, designer clothes and jewellery. We have stopped carrying about the important things and that is why divorce rates are so high. To what extent do you agree or disagree

here is no denying that the 21st century is a materialistic society as most people want to opt for lavish lifestyles in their lives this trend influences more separtions separation among couples. I, personally agree with this notion and in the following paragraphs, I will examine the reasons behind this phenomenon. To commence with, let us shed some light on the reasons why this problem arises in society. First and foremost, as more people these days run in a rat race to earn more and more money thus after becoming financially stable they spend their hard-earned money to improve their personality. For example, research conducted by the University of British Columbia in Canada in the Year 2012 on a group of 20% of individuals who work in the IT sector revealed that about 30% of their income they spent on buying cars and fashion clothes just to look attractive and flaunt their status in front of peers. Hence, just to become attractive, they spend their money on these products... On the other hand. let us delve deeper into the latter viewpoint of why the divorce rate has increased. Firstly, when an individual becomes financially independent they believe they no longer need a partner to advise them moreover they feel their privacy is disturbed. To elaborate, as today's world is more consumerism because a lot of promotion is happening in buying fancy products on online platforms such as Instagram and Facebook,when a female partner opts to buy those products their male partner declines, this raises the problem in conflict among each other and becomes one of the problem in increasing divorce rates. Secondly, the majority of people think if they do not spend their money on buying fancy clothes and big cars they do not get respect from society because in the 21st century everybody wants to interact with rich people as these people have a name and fame in society. To recapitulate, it can be considered that these problems arise because just because each individual is earning a lot of money with their work they sense financially stable in their life. Furthermore, owing to fame and name in society they spend big chunks of money on buying fancy clothes and modern cars.