Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment, only governments can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With environmental degradation becoming increasingly serious than ever, it is thought by many that only administrations can change this dilemma, and each individual plays no role in this fight. In my opinion, I partly agree with this point of view since all parties can make a great contribution to environmental conversations. On the one hand, there is no doubt that the authorities can deal with environmental-related problems. Firstly, national leaders can impose strict laws to force companies to exploit alternative sources of energy such as wind, solar, and water power. As a result, this effective solution would reduce the catastrophic impact on the natural world caused by the over exploitation of non-renewable energy. Moreover, governments could also raise the public's awareness of the importance of preserving the Earth through educational initiatives, including the green campaign and workshops, which could hardly be done by a person. Besides, the more knowledge the citizens are strengthened, the less irresponsible behaviours toward the environment will be more likely to happen. However, I believe that every single citizen could give their helping hands to address this issue. To begin, individuals could directly alleviate environmental problems by taking public transports such as bus and train in place of using their private vehicles, which in turn leads to a huge reduction in the number of toxic gas emissions released into the air. If everyone could put more effort into taking this action regularly, the contaminated atmosphere would be enormously tackled. Also, as consumers, they can change their improper consuming habits by using environmentally friendly products, which is highly encouraged by governments. This is because to meet the growing demand for eco-friendly products, enterprises have to alter their manufacturing processes to survive the competitive market In conclusion, while I accept that national leaders play an indispensable role in combatting environmental issues, I believe each citizen could also make a huge difference.