Nowadays a lot of buildings, such as schools and offices, are now being built with an open plan design. Why is that? Do you see this as a positive or negative development?

In older times, most of the office buildings used to have cubicle system, but this design has now become a thing of the past. People, these days, opt for an open plan architecture while constructing any commercial and school buildings. This layout helps in reducing the construction cost, but there are also some drawbacks to be taken into account. Open plan is chosen by many owners to save the building construction as well as maintenance cost. In this plan, furniture or raw material expenses can be reduced to a great extent as no cubicle or extra walls required to segregate the different departments or classes. Additionally, open plan has proven to be helpful in improving coordination among teams. People will be able to communicate better with other team members when there will be no physical barrier between them. In other words, one need not to leave the seat in order to do the small talk with a colleague. In my opinion, although this plan has some minor disadvantages, I consider this as a positive development. I agree that few people find it hard to concentrate on the work while working in an open design, because discussion of other team members may distract them. However, this problem is rare as not everybody has concentration problems. Contrary to this, open design is helpful in team building by bringing the workers closer. In conclusion, in open plan offices, concentration issues may be there for a few employees. However, in my opinion, reduced infrastructure cost and improved team coordination far outweigh these minor drawbacks.